What to do if you are a victim of a hit-and-run accident in Wisconsin
Unfortunately, there has been a rise of hit-and-run accidents in Wisconsin, as well as around the country. There are many reasons why someone would leave the scene of an accident.
The driver has an outstanding warrant against himThe driver doesn’t carry automobile insuranceThe driver panicked and fledThe driver is an illegal alienThe driver doesn’t have a valid driver’s licenseThe driver was impaired due to drugs or alcoholThe driver’s license has been suspended
Whatever the reasons, it is cause for concern.
A hit-and-run accident can occur if you are a driver or passenger in another car, on a bicycle, on a motorcycle, or as a pedestrian. The tortfeasor (wrong doer) leaves the scene of the accident without acknowledging there was an accident, not checking on the victim(s), and not providing any contact information.
In the event that you ever become a victim of a hit-and-run accident, it is very important that you know what to do and what not to do.
What to do in the event of a hit-and-run accident in Wisconsin
If you are a victim of a hit-and-run accident in Wisconsin, these are the important steps to take.
Try to get the license plate number, the make, model and color of the fleeing vehicle, and a description of the driver.Call 911 even if no one is injured and when the police come, make sure a police report is filled out.Try and find witnesses who saw the accident and get their contact information. You can give this information to the police and to your insurance company. Also, nearby businesses may have security cameras that could have captured what happened and what vehicle struck you and possible other victims.Take photos of your car. Focus on skid marks, car body damage or paint transfer. If you were in the vehicle and sustained an injury, be sure to also take photos of any scratches or immediate signs of harm to you or other possible victims. Also, take photos of the immediate vicinity to verify the location. Note the time and date of the accident.Seek immediate medical attention at an emergency room or with your family doctor.Contact your insurance company to inform them of the accident and your injuries.Contact an experienced hit-and-run attorney.
What notto do in the event of a hit-and-run accident in Wisconsin
· Never try to chase down the perpetrator. That could cause you great harm.
· Don’t leave the scene of the accident. Wait for medical and law enforcement officials to come so that you can give a full accounting of what transpired.
· Don’t ignore seeing a medical professional, as some injuries are felt 24-48 hours after an accident.
Wisconsin hit-and-run laws
Hit-and-runs are illegal in every state with some variations. The laws governing hit-and-run violations in Wisconsin are as follows:
· You may be charged with a misdemeanor if you leave the scene of an accident without injuries, and fined from $300 to $1000. You could also face up to 6 months in jail.
· You could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor if the accident caused minor injuries, and fined up to $10,000. You could also face nine months in jail.
· If “great bodily harm” was caused by the hit-and-run accident, you could be charged with a felony. That could mean a $50,000 fine and jail time of up to 15 years.
· If a fatality occurred as a result of the hit-and-run accident, you could end up paying a fine of $100,000, and up to 25 years in jail.
· Wisconsin law requires that drivers who hit something with their vehicle stop to investigate what they hit. If the accident caused property damage, injury or death, you must provide information and assistance. (The law came into existence to ensure that a person involved in a hit-and run-accident can’t argue that they were unaware of what they hit.)
Wisconsin hit-and-run attorney
If you, a family member, or friend has been injured in a hit-and-run accident in Wisconsin, you should contact us, experienced hit-and-run attorneys, as soon after the accident as possible. We may be able to assist law enforcement officials in finding the perpetrator, and will contact the insurance companies involved to find out what coverage you and the hit-and-run driver have and work to get you fair and just compensation. If the hit-and-run driver is not apprehended, we can discuss other options that may be available to you.
If you have any questions about this topic or any other questions related to personal injury law, please call us at 920-725-8464, or toll free at 1-800-529-1552. Our personal injury consultations are always free.
Please click on https://www.direnzolaw.com/blogto read our other personal injury articles.
The content of this blog was prepared by Law Offices of DiRenzo & Bomier, LLC for educational and informational purposes only. It is not intended to solicit business or provide legal advice. Laws differ by jurisdiction, and the information in this blog may not apply to you. You should seek the assistance of an attorney licensed to practice in your state before taking any action. Using this blog site does not create an attorney-client relationship between you and Law Offices of DiRenzo & Bomier, LLC -client relationships can only be created by written contract.
13 views0 comments